Relating My Own YouTube Channel To “Branding The Post-Feminist Self”

Media Example

I’m amazed how much I can relate the reading this week to my own experiences.

I’ve had my own YouTube channel and have been releasing videos every few months since 2008.  Over the years, my videos have changed from silly short films with my brother and his friends to my own channel focusing on myself.  In other words, I’ve been trying to brand myself.

My old channel, AutumnFilms125, focused more on project I’ve made with others.  My most popular film reached 30,000 views (but mostly because it ended up on 4chan because it was so cheesy…and it eventually was muted due to copyrighted music).

I didn’t really have a brand as Banet-Weiser talks about, which is the main reason why I decided to start a new channel last summer. I started out by recording myself playing games, but these videos didn’t really pick up like I hoped.  I still didn’t have a brand for myself.  A few months ago, I started vlogging in attempt to create a brand for myself. My first vlog currently has 186 views, which is a ton more than my gaming videos were getting.  So far I have made 3 vlogs, and I think I am slowing starting to pick up some momentum.

I’m not sure why I decided to start a new channel instead of using my old channel.  I was really concerned my old channel wasn’t me enough, and I wanted to focus on branding myself.  One thing I wanted to make sure of was that my channel wasn’t a typical DIY or makeup channel like so many channels are like Banet-Weiser point out and explains how many videos “…are repeatedly circulated in ways that support normative gender relations rather than challenge them.”  However, I still make sure I am wearing makeup and I am presenting myself how I want others to see me.  I’m branding myself before others can decide who I am.

Although I love making YouTube videos, it’s a scary thought that I need to sell myself if I want to get views.

Leave a Reply

